Happy Birthday Gulzar Sahab!

wp-1503050027169.

Sampooran Singh Kalra was his real name who was born on 18th August 1936 popularly known by his pen name Gulzar is an Indian lyricist, writer, film director, and a well-known Poet of today’s time.

There would be hardly anyone who’d not known Gulzar for his work. I remember growing up with a cartoon, The Jungle Book and its famous song written by Gulzar- Jungle jungle baat chali hain pata chala hain, chaddi pehan ke phhol khila hain phool khila hain! Do you remember that?

At that time, it was just a melodious song for me but over the period of time when I started reading him, watching his interviews, his thought process, I came to know this man is a magician. I mean, whatever he is writing and creating is going perfectly in the situations of life. He has written everything, you just name it and you will get it. There are plenty of emotions we feel at times but don’t know how to understand that. And that is the moment when you read some of his works and you’ll be like, “Man! This is it!” That is how Gulzar is…

As I have shared earlier as well there are two people who inspired me to write till now and they’re none other than Gulzar, and Mirza Ghalib. 🙂

I became very close to his thoughts after watching this interview of Gulzar. He is so humble, so kind personality that it motivates us to be like him. I would like to share that video here:

 

For me, one of the most beautiful and relatable pieces by him is-

मैं सिगरेट तो नहीं पीता मगर हर आने वाले से पूछ लेता हूँ की “माचिस है?” बहुत कुछ है जिसे मैं फूंक देना चाहता हूँ— गुलज़ार.

Today he’s turned 83 years old and I wish & pray Almighty bless him with all the happiness and health. 🙂

Copyright© 2015-2017 by SumitOfficial

All Rights Reserved.

 

 

23 thoughts on “Happy Birthday Gulzar Sahab!”

  1. Omg😍He is the kind of person every writer or reader would admire in deep, you really are inspired by him aren’t you? Your admiration is visible in the post, I love his work and that’s amazing to know that we still have him with us, the cigarette waali shayari,damn good! I feel such vibes after reading his works like how can I write with such intense emotions, so amazingly!
    Thanks for sharing😍

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeeeeeeeees! I am, Shivee. I really love the way he writes and speaks with his kindness. He inspires millions of people to be like him.

      And yes, that Cigarette wala shayri was a beautiful and relate-able.

      Thanks for reading my little love. 🙂

      Like

  2. There was this line I read composed by him ” Naraz to Hamesha khushiyan hi hoti hai, gumon ke itne nakhre nahi hote” and trust me I am die hard fan of the way he thinks and the way he expresses. He and Mirza ghalib are epitomy of brilliance. ❤️

    Like

Leave a Reply

