The Phone call – A Poem

Just before the evening arrived,
The phone appeared your name, I picked up and I said ‘Hello
The heartbeat got a little faster,
And now my face had a glow.

While listening to you, I lost
And forgot all the chores to be done,
I went to reach home from work,
I got drenched in rain and then I run.

I changed my clothes, got my hair dry
And sipped a mug full of tea,
The voice of your was echoing in my ear,
To listen to you again, I got myself free.

While again talking, things dived deeper
Our words went somewhere else,
I reckon, your smile is the most
beautiful thing that I have as my wealth.

Discussing from the dreams till
We reached at our highest fear,
If I had one wish to ask for,
I’d want you to be here.

The vulnerabilities and things we’ve undergone through,
We got to know each other with the words
And the more love would always continue.

Lost in our own little world
We’ve forgotten to look at the clock,
We were laughing continuously,
As if we are never going to stop.

Before putting down the call
Your eyes got wet like the evening rains,
I held your face, wiped the tears, kissed, and hugged you tightly,
And we wished each other good night again.

Copyright © 2015-2020 by SumitOfficial

All Rights Reserved

Published by: SumitOfficial

Sumit Yadav(25), popularly known as SumitOfficial, is a blogger from Mumbai who has been writing since 5 years, and has posted 600+ Blog Posts till now. He is an MBA and works in an Educational Industry in Mumbai as a Senior Career Consultant. His spare-time activities include creative things like -- Acting, Photographing, mimicking, singing. He has worked with Radios, appeared on National TV, interviewed authors, appeared on newspapers for multiple activities, and has written reviews for magazines. Also, he's been consistently writing offline in his journals for more than 875+ days now. He believes in Continuous Progression, and Exponential Growth. 

Categories love, poem, relationship, story, SumitOfficial, writingTags, , , , , 28 Comments

28 thoughts on “The Phone call – A Poem”

  1. Wow Sunit.. such a cute poem today!! Was reading it and creating and feeling the scenes in my mind.. touched my heart.. every emotion.. from excitement, love, fears, happiness, sadness, every single emotion wrapped up here in a single poem.. vulnerabilities and dreams.. discussions at a deeper level.. beautiful!! And that line “I reckon, your smilr is the most beautiful thing that I have as my wealth”… whatmore would a girl expect.. lovvvvveeedd iitttttt!!!!!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Hey Sumit!
    Good morning!

    Now you tell me one thing were you telling us a story or something? Because I could imagine it all. It seems to me as if poet heard his loved one on call and gave description of the same.

    I so loved the whole poem but the best of all was when he said if he were to ask for something, he’d wish her here. Shows the intense love between two people.

    And you love I love how you end your poems always full of love and positivity. The way he held her and kissed her and calmed her when she was emotional.
    I loved it to the core.

    I ABSOLUTELY DID LOVE IT!

    See you around ✨

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hey Rashmi,

      Well, when the heart is filled with a bunch of emotions, you can not decide what you are actually doing but all I know is this beautiful poem which I wanted to share with the world. I am making everyone aware about my girl.

      Thank you so much for loving it, Rashmi.

      See you around. Ugh my laptop isn’t having the emoji. But feel the shine within.

      Like

  3. Hey Sumit..!!

    So let me start now, after reading this thrice…I guess now I ready to tell you how much I loved it.

    First of all… talking about your heart..it’s a gem Sumit. I don’t know how you manage to come up with such an amazing lines which is full of emotions.
    This poetry is drink on the name of love
    and at this moment..I am intoxicated with the words you served us.

    The point were you say..at this moment I want you to be here… The poet is such a crazy lover that the presence of his beloved is going to make everything perfect. Wow.!!

    And the way you ended this poem..with so much of love.. having hugs..kisses… wiping of tears.
    It’s beautiful.
    I absolutely loved it.

    Like

Leave a comment